I spend a year at Bible college. It was one of the best years of my life, but it wasn’t an easy one. My first semester was great, I was learning a great deal and spending more time in my Bible than ever before. However when I came back for the second semester I started to wonder about a few doctrines and rules. When I searched for the reasons behind the rules in the Bible I could not find them. It was at this point I started reading great theologians like Jonathan Edwards, Charles Spurgeon, John Piper among others. Then I happened upon Mark Driscoll, Pastor of Mars Hill Church in Seattle. For the last couple months of Bible college and the following summer I dove into his sermons and was transformed in a way that far exceeded the year I had spent in Bible college. Pastor Mark read and studied his Bible and taught straight from the text. My knowledge and understanding of Jesus grew tremendously in those months. It has been years now and I have continued to listen, watch and read Pastor Mark’s work. This past week I read Confessions of a Reformission Rev.: Hard Lessons from an Emerging Missional Church for the first time in a couple years and I was challenged afresh. This book is the amazing story of Mars Hill church and how they have grown from a small Bible study to a church that impacts culture in amazing ways. They are actively doing what we are called to do when the Bible says, “go and make disciples.” I encourage every Christian to read this book.

Along these lines I just noticed this Nightline story on Mark Driscoll and Mars Hill: http://abcnews.go.com/Nightline/FaithMatters/Story?id=6711206&page=1

