CS Lewis wrote, “It is a good rule, after reading a new book, never to allow yourself another new one till you have read an old one in between. If that is too much for you, you should at least read one old one to every three new ones.”

 

Mr. Lewis certainly had more knowledge than I could every hope to obtain and I could do well to heed to his advice. I admit that I have not read as many classics as I would like (or he would suggest), but the past couple of days I have really enjoyed reading Hemmingway’s classic The Old Man and the Sea. It makes me look forward to summer and spending days on the ocean fishing!

 

 

Given the state of our country and economy, there are some historical, political, economic classics I would like to read:

 

United States Constitution Federalist Papers
Bastiat: The Law
The Jefferson Letters
Anti-Federalist Papers
Articles of Confederation
Declaration of Independence
Thomas Paine’s Common Sense
Washington’s Farewell Address
Patrick Henry: “Give Me Liberty” Speech
Adam Smith: The Wealth of Nations
John Adams: Thoughts on Government
John Locke: Second Treatise of Civil Government

