And David said, “The Lord who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” And Saul said to David, “Go, and the Lord be with you!” – 1 Samuel 17:37
What I cannot comprehend about this decision is how Saul willingly put the fate of Israel in a boy. This confrontation, this fight, this one on one battle to the death would result in the outcome of the war. If David, this boy, lost the battle to the giant, all of Israel would suffer the consequences of being taken over by the Philistines. If David lost all of Israel would be slaves to the Philistines (verse 9). There are a number of children who possess childlike faith (hence the name childlike) who trust and love their God, but what kind of king puts the future of his nation in the hands of a boy?
Reading this I see a picture of God the Father in heaven doing the unimaginable in sending his son, Jesus. Sending Jesus to earth to fight the greatest battle that has ever been fought in the history of the world was the decision that was made. God was willing to put it all on Jesus, the son. Is not that the greatest faith there ever could be? If God the Father had such faith in Jesus, shouldn’t we too?
The vision of Warrior Jesus: “And in the midst of the lampstands one like a son of man, clothed with a long robe and with a golden sash around his chest. The hairs of his head were white, like white wool, like snow. His eyes were like a flame of fire, his feet were like burnished bronze, refined in a furnace, and his voice was like the roar of many waters. In his right hand he held seven stars, from his mouth came a sharp two-edged sword, and his face was like the sun shining in full strength. When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead. But he laid his right hand on me, saying, “Fear not, I am the first and the last, and the living one. I died, and behold I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of Death and Hades.” Revelation 1:13-18

