Who would think a worship leader would make a great
theologian? I sure didn’t but I had $15 worth of
credit to the book store so a few days ago I bought
Praise Habit by David Crowder, worship leader of
University Baptist Church in Texas and lead guitarist
and singer of the popular David Crowder Band. I didn’t
know what to expect, maybe a fun and happy book about
God but I never expected to be challenged and have my
thinking changed. I was wrong.
This book was written in an easy to read and engaging
manner that made me turn every page. I flew through
this book not because the content was easy but because
the content was so engaging and challenging. David
starts off by talking about habits and how most people
automatically associate the word “habit” with “bad
habit.” He then goes into the habits of our lives and
how we can alter silly things like a greeting if we
only cognitively think about it for 21 days (on
average). A word study he did revealed that our
English word habit is the same word for the dress of
nuns. It is a dress that sets them apart, makes them
radical and everyone knows what they are doing when
they wear it, why they wear it, and almost everyone
respects them for it. Their “habit” is part of their
lives. We too should have a habit we put on everyday157683670301_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_aa240_sh20_sclzzzzzzz_.jpg
but this habit is not a tangible outer layer but the
spiritual layer of Christ as Romans 13:14 says,
“Instead, put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no
provision for the flesh to arouse its desires.” Our
praise habit should become our “praise Christ” as we
“put on Christ.”
This is a simple yet profound idea that I found really
challenging and encouraging. More on this book later,
but I surely recommend it along with David’s music.

